News

Foodborne diseases control: Afrique One-ASPIRE engages in the struggle

Foodborne diseases (FBD) have emerged as a major public health problem worldwide. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), almost 1 in 10 people fall ill every year from eating contaminated food. To address FBD, the research consortium Afrique One-African Science Partnership for Intervention Research Excellence (ASPIRE) incorporated foodborne diseases and nutritional illnesses into one of its five Thematic Training Programmes (TTP) and recruited 13 fellows including 2 postdocs, 7 PhD students and 4 Master students.

From the 24th to 26th of May 2017, all members of the TTP foodborne diseases and nutritional illnesses (TTP Food), including the director of Afrique One-ASPIRE and leader of the TTP Food, Prof Bassirou Bonfoh and the deputy director and co-leader of the TTP Food, Dr Sayoki Mfinanga, were gathered in Grand-Bassam for the TTP Food kick off meeting. Profs Sabiba Amouzou of the African and Malagasy Council for Higher Education (CAMES) and Marina Koussémon of the University Nangui Abrogoua (UNA) honoured the meeting with their presence.

A major goal of the meeting was that participants become familiar with each other and with the research activities planned or ongoing under the TTP Food. It was also a good occasion for the 13 fellows to present their research protocol and receive feedback from their supervisors and the training coordinator. The main topics covered by their research are (i) Value chain of animal source food, (ii) Consumption patterns and related risks and (iii) the cost effectiveness design of intervention.

Another significant point of the TTP Food kick off meeting was the training during a field visit to a traditional Ivorian restaurant to observe safety and consumption of raw food, the environment and the business of the establishment. Some courses on participatory risk analysis, inter-trans and multidisciplinary approaches were given by the supervisors. In addition, the Afrique One-ASPIRE coordination team presented rules of management within the consortium (finance, communication, monitoring and evaluation) and the training representative outlined the different training opportunities available.

About TTP Food Photos

Facebook Twitter Google Plus

News

Contrôle des maladies d'origine alimentaire : Afrique One-ASPIRE s'engage dans la lutte

Les maladies d'origine alimentaire sont apparues comme un problème majeur de santé publique dans le monde entier. Selon l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), près d'une personne sur 10 tombe malade chaque année en mangeant des aliments contaminés. Pour s'attaquer aux maladies d’origine alimentaire, le consortium de recherche Afrique One-African Science Partnership for Intervention Research Excellence (ASPIRE) a incorporé les maladies d'origine alimentaire et les maladies nutritionnelles dans l'un de ses cinq programmes de formation thématique (TTP) et a recruté 13 boursiers, dont 2 post-doc, 7 doctorants et 4 masters.

Du 24 au 26 mai 2017, tous les membres du TTP sur maladies d'origine alimentaire et les maladies nutritionnelles (TTP Food), y compris le directeur d'Afrique One-ASPIRE et leader du TTP Food, le Prof. Bassirou Bonfoh et le directeur adjoint et co-leader du TTP Food, le Dr Sayoki Mfinanga, se sont réunis à Grand-Bassam pour la réunion TTP Food. Profs Sabiba Amouzou du Conseil Africain et Malgache de l'Enseignement Supérieur (CAMES) et Marina Koussémon de l'Université Nangui Abrogoua (UNA) ont honoré la rencontre de leur présence.

L'objectif principal de la réunion était que les participants se familiarisent aux activités de recherche prévues ou en cours dans le cadre de l'alimentation. C'était aussi une bonne occasion pour les 13 boursiers de présenter leur protocole de recherche et de recevoir des commentaires de leurs superviseurs et du coordonnateur des formations, Dr Katharina Kreppel. Les principaux sujets abordés par les boursiers concernent (i) la chaîne de valeur de l'alimentation animale, (ii) les modes de consommation et les risques connexes et (iii) la conception de l'efficacité du rapport coût-efficacité.

Un autre point important de la réunion de lancement du TTP Food a été la formation et une visite sur le terrain dans un restaurant traditionnel ivoirien pour observer la sécurité et la consommation des aliments crus, de l'environnement et des affaires de l'établissement. Certains cours sur l'analyse participative des risques, les approches inter-trans et multidisciplinaires ont été donnés par les superviseurs. En outre, l'équipe de coordination d’Afrique One-ASPIRE a présenté des règles de gestion au sein du consortium (finances, communication, suivi et évaluation). Dr Kreppel a aussi décrit les différentes possibilités de formation disponibles.  

FacebookTwitterGoogle Plus