News

Protection of primates in Africa: CSRS alongside the African Primatological Society

The situation of non-human primates is of great concern. 60% of them are threatened with extinction. In Côte d'Ivoire, the chimpanzee population has dropped by 90% in 20 years. It is in this country that the inaugural Congress of the African Primatological Society (APS) is held from 24 to 27 July 2017 in the presence of more than 150 scientists from Africa and elsewhere. According to Prof. Inza Koné, Director of Research and Development (DRD) at the Centre Suisse de Recherches Scientifiques en Côte d’Ivoire (CSRS), the general objective of the Congress is to formally form the APS and position it as a platform for Sharing of knowledge and experience among conservation researchers, conservation actors, education professionals, donors and policymakers from the African continent, in order to achieve effective conservation of primates in Africa.

Moving the center of gravity of primatology in Africa Through the APS, Africans intend to "take responsibility for the conservation of primates" and "move the center of gravity of primatology to Africa" Bassirou Bonfoh, Director General of CSRS. Indeed, the world of primatology is largely dominated by scientists from North America or Europe. African primatologists are little known internationally, they do not have access to the same funding and rarely direct research or conservation projects even on their own continent. This situation is paradoxical, especially since Africa has the largest population of primates in the world. "It's time" to create the APS. "There really is a need for an African organization run by Africans," Prof. Russell Mittermeier, a renowned American primatologist, Vice President of the US Organization of the protection of the nature « Conservation International ».

Awareness at the political level
Alain Richard Donwahi, the Ivorian Minister of Water and Forests, who opened the inaugural meeting of the APS, asked the question of primates. "The challenge of primate conservation in Africa is not only environmental but also political and scientific," he said. He also invited the congress participants to "bring innovations to put in place a conservation mechanism to reduce the disappearance of primates" on the continent. The same is true of the Ministry of Health, Environment and Sustainable Development, represented by Prof. Delphin Ochou. The latter encouraged "the organs of the APS to work for the attainment of the objectives of, among others, the conservation of primates".

The CSRS in the forefront
CSRS is at the forefront of the fight for the conservation of endangered species and their habitats; Hence its considerable support in organizing the inaugural Congress of APS. The institution conducts research, awareness and conservation activities in the forests of the Côte d'Ivoire in the north-east of the country and in Tai National Park, one of the last remnants of the primary rainforest in Côte d'Ivory.

Other articles on the subject
http://www.lemonde.fr/afrique/article/2017/07/25/les-primatologues-africains-s-organisent-pour-sauve...
http://www.bbc.com/afrique/region-40716556
http://news.abidjan.net/h/619234.html
http://www.rfi.fr/afrique/20170725-cote-ivorie-150-scientifiques-africains-mobilisent-sauver-singes



Facebook Twitter Google Plus

News

Protection des primates en Afrique : le CSRS au côté de la Société Africaine de Primatologie

La situation des primates non humains est très préoccupante. 60% d’entre eux sont menacés d’extinction. En Côte d'Ivoire, la population de chimpanzés a chuté de 90% en 20 ans. C’est dans ce pays que se tient du 24 au 27 juillet 2017, le congrès inaugural de la Société Africaine de Primatologie (SAP) en présence de plus de 150 scientifiques d’Afrique et d’ailleurs. A en croire Prof. Inza Koné, Directeur de la Recherche et du Développement (DRD) au Centre Suisse de Recherches Scientifiques en Côte d’Ivoire (CSRS), l’objectif général du congrès est de constituer formellement la SAP et de la positionner comme une plate-forme de partage de connaissances et d’expériences entre chercheurs, acteurs de la conservation, professionnels de l’éducation, bailleurs de fonds et décideurs du continent africain, afin de parvenir à une conservation effective des primates d’Afrique.

Passer le centre de gravité de la primatologie en Afrique

A travers la SAP, les Africains entendent « prendre leur responsabilité dans la conservation des primates » et « faire passer le centre de gravité de la primatologie en Afrique » a laissé entendre le Prof. Bassirou Bonfoh, Directeur Général du CSRS. En effet, le milieu de la primatologie est largement dominé par des scientifiques d’Amérique du Nord ou d’Europe. Les primatologues africains sont peu connus à l’échelle internationale, ils n’ont pas accès aux mêmes financements et ne dirigent que rarement des projets de recherche ou de conservation, même sur leur propre continent. Cette situation est paradoxale d’autant plus que l’Afrique détient la plus grande population de primates au monde. « C’est le moment » de créer la SAP. « On a vraiment besoin d’une organisation africaine gérée par des Africains » a estimé le Prof. Russell Mittermeier, un célèbre primatologue américain, Vice-président de l’organisation américaine de protection de la nature « Conservation International ».

Une prise de conscience au niveau politique

Selon le Ministre Ivoirien des eaux et forêts, M. Alain Richard Donwahi qui a ouvert les travaux du congrès inaugural de la SAP, la question des primates interpelle tout le monde. « Le défi de la conservation des primates en Afrique n’est pas seulement d’ordre environnemental mais aussi d’ordre politique et scientifique », a-t-il déclaré. Il a par ailleurs invité les participants au congrès à « apporter des innovations pour mettre en place un mécanisme de conservation pour réduire la disparition des primates » sur le continent. Même son de cloche du côté du Ministère de la Salubrité, de l’Environnement et du Développement durable, représentée par le Prof. Delphin Ochou. Ce dernier a encouragé « les organes de la SAP à œuvrer pour l’atteinte des objectifs que sont entre autres la conservation des primates ».

Le CSRS en avant-garde

Le CSRS se positionne en avant-garde dans la lutte pour la conservation des espèces en voie de disparition et leurs habitats ; d’où son appui notable et considérable dans l’organisation du congrès inaugural de la SAP. L’institution mène des activités de recherche, de sensibilisation et de conservation dans les forêts de la côte ivoirienne, dans le nord-est du pays et au Parc national de Tai, l’un des derniers vestiges de la forêt tropicale primaire en Côte d’Ivoire. 

Autres articles sur le sujet
http://www.lemonde.fr/afrique/article/2017/07/25/les-primatologues-africains-s-organisent-pour-sauve...
http://www.bbc.com/afrique/region-40716556
http://news.abidjan.net/h/619234.html
http://www.rfi.fr/afrique/20170725-cote-ivorie-150-scientifiques-africains-mobilisent-sauver-singes

FacebookTwitterGoogle Plus